DigiKam – the annoying problem with tooltip colors

Digikam, the great piece of software that I’m using to keep and organize (a little) the collection of digital picture files, has a small but annoying bug, especially to be seen when used in a Gnome/Unity/Xfce environment. The tooltips that show the properties of files or other useful information have colors that are without any contrast and do not allow to read the text:

digikamgtk_widgetstyleproblem

I fiddled with all the settings people had talked about on the net and finally found a solution, not obvious but working. I changed the style of the “widgets” in Settings>Configure digiKam, under the Miscellaneous category to Cleanlooks instead of GTK+:

configuredigikam_widgetsThere is no need for a restart. The change is immediate and for the better:

digikamwidgetchanged

Now I can use digiKam to its fullest potential!

14 thoughts on “DigiKam – the annoying problem with tooltip colors

  1. Must have been one of the large number of tweaks I tried earlier before coming to this kind of solution. If I remember well, it involved installing some KDE libraries and GUIs for preferences, but I cannot find exactly which ones. Sorry.

  2. I’m using Cinnamon on Linux Mint 13. I had white text on a pale yellow background.
    In a way I’m glad this is a common problem; finding the answer, for me, was quick. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

